A Magical Pop-Up Cinema Is Coming To A Peak District Cave This Summer

A pop-up cinema is returning to the Peak Cavern cave in the Peak District summer, with 12 film screenings over the space of three weekends. The Village Screen pop-up cinema is a stunning cave experience that is sure to be unmissable.

Credit: The Village Screen

The screenings are taking place between Thursday, 3rd June to Sunday, 20th June. In its fifth year at the Peak Cavern, The Village Screen is a popular event that is sure to sell out fast. You can look forward to seeing children classics such as The Goonies, Labyrinth, Jurassic Park and two films from Indiana Jones.

You can also see classic cult films such as Alien and The Lost Boys as well as more recent films such as Jojo Rabbit and The Descent.

Credit: The Village Screen

Food will be purchased in the parking area before taking seats in the cave for the film. Once inside, guests can also order drinks and snacks to their seats via an app.

A spokesperson for the event said: “Audiences can expect a phenomenal, well organised, and safe experience. The event will be organised to adhere to all of the latest Government guidance and audience sizes will be scaled down in order to adhere with Step 3 of the Government’s Covid roadmap out of lockdown.”

Some of the steps that the organisers have made to ensure safety are wiping all furniture and surfaces frequently, handwashing facilities, staggered arrivals and group seating in ‘support bubbles’ as well as socially distanced seating.

Credit: The Village Screen

Check out the film line up below:

Thursday, June 3: The Lost Boys, doors at 6.30pm, film at 8pm
Friday, June 4: Alien, doors at 6.30pm, film at 8pm
Saturday, June 5: The Goonies, doors at 5.30pm, film at 7pm
Sunday, June 6: Labyrinth, doors at 5.30pm, film at 7pm
Thursday, June 10: The Breakfast Club, doors at 6.30pm, film at 8pm
Friday, June 11: Stand By Me, doors at 6.30pm, film at 8pm
Saturday, June 12: Raiders of the Lost Ark, doors at 5.30pm, film at 7pm
Sunday, June 13: Jurassic Park, doors at 5.30pm, film at 7pm
Thursday, June 17: Us, doors at 6.30pm, film at 8pm
Friday, June 18: The Descent, doors at 6.30pm, film at 8pm
Saturday, June 19: JoJo Rabbit, doors at 5.30pm, film at 7pm
Sunday, June 20: Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom, doors at 5.30pm, film at 7pm

If this sounds like something you would be interested in, tickets are £21 for adults and £17 for children – not including booking fees. Book here.

Read More: An Open-Air Cinema Is Coming To One Of Yorkshire’s Most Stunning Castles