The Stunning Yorkshire Beaches Owned By Queen Elizabeth II

The Stunning Yorkshire Beaches Owned By Queen Elizabeth II

Now, it’s pretty common knowledge that the Queen owned the majority of the country’s swans, along with the dolphins that swam in our waters… But did you know that Her Majesty owned a ton of our country’s beaches, too, including a big old handful right here in Yorkshire?

Forming part of the Crown Estate – which is owned by the Monarch but financially benefits the Treasury – the Queen owned over 16 beaches across the Yorkshire coast, which have now been passed down to King Charles III following his succession to the throne.

Credit: Pixabay

The most beautiful of the bunch is arguably Flamborough Head – which is famed for its Jurassic Coast-like cliffs and the stunning ‘Drinking Dinosaur’ formation where seals regularly gather. The Crown Estate’s ownership stretches from popular Thornwick Bay all the way up to Flamborough.

Other beaches under the Crown’s ownership include the unbelievably beautiful Robin Hood’s Bay, alongside the resort which we’ve rightfully dubbed the Amalfi Coast of the UK – Staithes. Stunning Staithes is blessed with tiers of charming red roofs, glistening waters and lush green cliffs.

Credit: Pixabay

Here are all of the Yorkshire beaches owned by the King:

  • The land between Saltburn beach and Skinningrove
  • Staithes
  • Port Mulgrave
  • Runswick Bay
  • Kettleness
  • Sandsend Beach
  • Whitby’s South beach
  • Saltwick Bay
  • Robin Hood’s Bay
  • Boggle Hole
  • Ravenscar
  • The land around (and including) Scarborough Castle
  • Bempton Cliffs and Flamborough
  • Thornwick Bay
  • Wilsthorpe
  • Fraisthorpe
  • Barmston
  • Skipsea
  • Hornsea
  • Mappleton
  • East Newton to Waxholme
  • The land South of Withernsea to Kilnsea
  • The Humber Estuary

The Crown Estate, which is now owned by king Charles III, owns approximately 45 per cent of England’s foreshore (a large portion of which is up North) – while other beaches are commonly owned by local councils or the National Trust.

The Queen passed away on Thursday 8th September, leaving the throne to her eldest son, King Charles III and his wife Queen Consort Camilla. William and Kate stepped into the roles of Prince and Princess of Wales – making Kate the first princess of Wales since Diana’s death.

The Queen reigned for 70 years, making her the second-longest reigning monarch of all time and the longest reigning monarch in British history.

[Featured image: Unsplash]

Read more: What Will Happen To The Queen’s Corgis Now That She’s Died?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.